Monthly Favorites March 2013

Hello lovelies!

Got back earlier this week refreshed and feeling awesome from my UK trip!  Lots of pictures between London to the Isle of Skye in Scotland to go through and edit back for some type of travel scrapbook.  Anyway, on to the items I used often in March…before it becomes May!

IMG_4883

Top Left to Right: Too Faced Boudoir Eyes palette, Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Blush in Exposed.
Bottom Left to Right: Benefit Watt’s Up, Tarte Maracuja Oil, Neutrogina Healthy Skin Liquid Makeup in Soft Beige 50.

March was a good month, a little dry on my skin but not as dry as February was but I might still be adapting to the New England area which has a lot less moisture in the air than down south.  All in all I did a bit of traveling and a lot of running around but these were my favorites that I stuck to using frequently.

IMG_4884

My absolute favorite palette that I still cling to and actually forced myself to leave behind from my UK trip is my Too Faced Boudoir Eyes.  Can you believe I got this new at the end of February?  A few weeks later I’ve made some headway into the shadow pans.  I sadly even made a chip by accident in Garter Belt!  In the Buff is by far my favorite brow highlight right now and there are dents in French Tickler from my angled eye liner brush.  Overall, this is an awesome palette for some soft, natural day looks with a lot of leeway for some darker, sultry evening eyes.

IMG_4885

My other favorite this past month has been my Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Exposed.  It’s one of those shades that doesn’t look impressive in the pan but in swatching it creates a soft flush that looks so natural on the cheeks without much effort making this an easy choice to grab when I’m rushed for time in the morning.

IMG_4887

Benefit’s Watt’s Up! was  goodie I had in a deluxe sample-sized little tube for my Sephora birthday gift (on right) and ended up loving it so much that I bought the full-sized before my UK trip.  I still brought the mini on vacation but the full-sized is sitting pretty in its box until I can do a proper full review on it.  It’s awesome and gives a nice dewy, luminous glow.  *drools*  I’ll get a full review up soon!

IMG_4888

Next up is Tarte’s Pure Maracuja Oil.  This ALSO was a mini deluxe sample that I got in a larger set a while back.  It was cute and little but lately I ended up loving it more and more as a day face oil that I grabbed up the full size for it as well when Ulta had their Month of Beauty deals and had the full size on sale.  Like, I love you, Maracuja Oil, I love you a lot..not sure though if I love you at full price at $46 USD but at $26 USD I love you enough not to resist picking up.   I brought the mini on vacation and will end up reusing the mini as my cute travel bottle.

What really impressed me though was it works fast on damaged skin.  The weather was so dry and cold in London and Scotland that it tore my boyfriend’s skin a new one and he had red splotchy skin and heavily breaking out because of the climate.  Near the end of the trip I forced him to use the oil with a little coaxing and he was looking all better in a day or two.  I sadly needed a stronger face oil during the trip because I underestimated the climate as well and in all honesty SHOULD have brought my Badger face oil instead to soothe the dry spots on my combination skin but the maracuja did the job well enough with just more use of the oil around my dry areas.  I’ll have to dig up vacation pictures if he’ll let me post before and after of his embarrassingly splotchy skin for all the world to see.  Will do a more thorough review in the future.  🙂

IMG_4886

Finally, last but not least, I really liked Neutrogena’s Healthy Skin Liquid foundation in Soft Beige 50.  I picked it up on recommendation by other blogs because drugstore foundation hunting alone isn’t easy or my strongest point when you can’t swatch and test in-store and who wants to buy foundations without testing or swatching?  This has a luminous finish that works well with my combination skin.  As for coverage, I broke out a little prior to my trip from stress/excitement but this foundation helped cover up blemishes and after a few days my skin cleared up quickly.  I can’t say if the foundation’s formula helped my skin acne recover faster or slower (a’la the “healthy skin promoting formula”) so I won’t make that claim but I did like the coverage when I HAD the acne.

Well, lovelies, that’s March in a nutshell!  I cannot wait for all that is in-store for April with warmer weather and more sunshine to brighten our days.  Let me know if you’ve tried any of these products and what you think OR if you have items you recommend!  😀