Tarte Pure Maracuja Oil Review

Finally, lovelies, enough with monster big multiple item posts and I can just focus on one item at a time.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE trying a lot of stuff at once but golly, sometimes you get overloaded.  Today I finally get to writing a review on one of my favorite face oils: Tarte Pure Maracuja Oil.

IMG_4815

Lots of love for this face oil.  I had originally gotten a deluxe sample size of it a while back with my Sephora reward points ages ago and just left this on back burner.  It takes me a lot of love to go about buying a full size and this product gave quite a bit to warrant dropping cash on so let’s explore further!  It’s $46 USD for 1.7 oz of product and can be found online from Tarte as well as online or in-store at Sephora and Ulta.  A little pricey but this stuff takes forever to get through.

IMG_4814

The packaging is pretty darn lovely.  Tarte packages the Pure Maracuja Oil in a gorgeous purple-tinted glass bottle with an eye dropper built into the handle.  It’s tucked away into a cute little wooden box and held secure inside by foam holders that pop right out.  Immediately I loved the bottle because it’s very sturdy and the beautiful purple tint actually protects the oil from sunlight damage.  The box is also really nice too so I saved that to throw hold little odds and ends on my bathroom counter.

IMG_4822

The product has a lot of big claims of the efficacy of the oil based on their 6 week consumer study.  Stuff like “96.3% of subjects saw overall visible improvement in skin” and “94.3%…visible improvement in skin’s texture” and the biggy “90.5%…fine lines and wrinkles look visibly reduced.”  That’s a pretty hefty amount of claims, right?

IMG_4853

Well, as far as I can gather, the maracuja oil is cold-pressed from the maracuja fruit, native to Brazil.  It’s loaded with antioxidants and fatty acids that are good for your skin.  Supposedly it moisturizes a number of skin types from dry to oily and combination.  It has a lot of healthy nutrients to moisturize dry skin but because they’re “good” oils they’ll keep your skin moisturized without causing your skin to accumulate the bad oils that cause breakouts and pimples.  I know, it sounds counter-intuitive for oily and combination skin users to add MORE oil to an already oily face…I’ve been there, I doubted, I tried it, I didn’t break out.

IMG_4823

Speaking of trying…here’s what it looks like on your skin when you drip a bit.  It’s a clear liquid with a slippery texture (yeah, I know, duh-it’s oil).  Package instructions say for your face..2-3 drops and in testing that really is all you need to spread over your face and neck area.  A little goes a long way in this case.

When rubbed in, it gets easily absorbed with no color or odor.  In testing, it gets absorbed quicker than other face oils I’ve used so there is less of an oily feel on your skin.  If you somehow still feel some oil on your face then you might have applied TOO much but thankfully the quick fix is blending it out a bit more and it’ll get absorbed one way or another.  Overall, I really liked how it felt.  It didn’t feel greasy on my skin and I have combination oily skin.

IMG_4824

In testing over several weeks and in different climates (due to multiple long-distance traveling) I was satisified with the product.  In warm, humid climates like when I was in Florida it was marvelous.  I felt moisturized and didn’t have breakouts or felt oily throughout the day.  The UK was the challenging part because it was VERY cold and dry in that climate zone so I had some troubling dry spots around my mouth and nose while the rest of my skin was well moisturized but truth be told I did wipe around those areas the most during that trip because of a mild cough and cold but this was remedied by adapting and using just a little extra oil around those areas during application and they were right as rain midway of the trip.  I did break out prior to the trip due to stress and monthly hormones so I had a pimple when I flew out but regular use of the oil did NOT make it worse and in actuality it was gone by the third day in.  In the New England area my skin behaves with this product.

My favorite was testing on the boyfriend.  He developed disgustingly dry skin from the 20 mile bike ride we did in the English countryside one day with wind, snow, and mild hail.  It was enough exposure to the elements to damage his skin.  His skin was all flaky and he developed several pimples and overall redness.  He wouldn’t let me post pictures, sorry.  He DID however let me put the oil on his face everyday after I couldn’t ignore how damaged his skin look.  By the end of the trip his skin cleared up faster than it would have done otherwise.

IMG_4820

So, overall, I really liked Tarte’s Pure Maracuja Oil.  It works very well in multiple climates and for difficult skin types.  As for the product’s claims, I (knock on wood) don’t have fine lines and wrinkles to say one way or another but my skin texture did feel smoother and overall healthier.  In extreme cases like the boyfriend’s weather exposure-damaged skin it helped immensely improve the overall appearance and texture of his skin and gave him the nutrients his skin needed to repair faster than it would have done otherwise…and that man has no skin regimen whatsover beyond rubbing a solid bar of Irish Spring all over his face on occasion.  Ugh, I shuddered a little despite our love.

So lovelies, overall this is a recommendation.  Let me know if you’ve tried this product and your thoughts or what your skin regiment entails to!